Birds in Concrete Jungles!!

This beautiful bird (that I sadly can’t identify) was on the neem tree outside my window. So if you know what bird this is, I’d appreciate a message below!

Ours is an older house, the types that were built with gardens, and it always amazes me how in the middle of this crowded, congested, polluted city of Calcutta, I am able to see some of the most beautiful birds on the trees outside my apartment!!  Some of them I’ve figured out, but this one I can’t!  

There is another hazy picture of it below, eating a guava off a tree in our garden.  It just hung upside down and ate the pulp off the fruit from all sides.

Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. shruti

     /  October 17, 2011

    Lovely bird! This seems to be the Blue-throated Barbet.
    Nice blog Rita. Good to know your nature-loving side 🙂

    Reply
  2. Rita Banerji

     /  October 19, 2011

    Thank you to Rajashree Khalap for identifying it for me. It is a blue throated Barbet. And she’s given me this lovely link on birds in Bengal. http://www.bengalbirds.info/

    Reply
  3. Manvendra

     /  October 19, 2011

    Looks like a woodpecker or a kingfisher to me

    Reply
  4. I have no idea, Rita. At first it looked related to the Australian Kingfisher, but they don’t eat fruit! It must be on the move south from the mountains or form the jungles.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

