The Indian Monsoon Through My Lens

When I was a child growing up in India, we were forced to write essays on the Monsoons in school.  More than 70% of India is agricultural and much of our agriculture is dependent on the monsoons.   Hence the Monsoon season in our school texts was often referred to as the King of Seasons! Our teacher wanted us to write poetic essays, glorifying the beauty and grace of the monsoons.  My essays were generally about streets waterlogged with dirty brown water in which snakes and other vile things swam,  which bred mosquitoes and kept me house bound.  The best part of my essays would be about the hot tea and potato pakoras that my mother would fry.  “Is this an essay about food?” my teacher would demand to know of me.   Why couldn’t I write pretty essays about the Monsoon?

Well, I went out with my camera and thought I’ll try a photo essay on the Monsoon — for once, a pretty one 🙂

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. A Bonneau

     /  October 15, 2012

    Lovely photographs. I love the colourful umbrellas that the men sport! The monsoons hold a special place in the hearts of many Indians. On the more practical side, my mother is glad as she knows that there will be less power failures which is a common feature in India. I remember the monsoons in Calcutta: people and cars wading through the inundated streets. In the hills, like in Darjeeling, people used to be scared of possible landslides. Hot tea and homemade pakoras sound heavenly!

    Reply
    • we continue to have power cuts and disconnected phones during the monsoons — because now the municipal complaints they can’t possibly go out in the rain to fix it! That’s one of the reasons my internet goes off too because it come’s through the phone. But it’s more bearable than in the summer 🙂

      Reply
  2. hi Rita, I’m always excited noticing you, making those unspectacular reports with an attitude of understatement …

    Reply
  3. the monsoon through your lens: a beautiful poetic document – strong side by side with your great political engagement!

    Reply
  4. What a material of un-ambiguity and preserveness of precious familiarity regarding unexpected emotions.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

