Almost 100 and Strong: A Woman I Love and Admire

This is Sati Dida (dida meaning grandmother), who was my grandmother’s best friend. She recently passed away in January 2022, and I felt a great sense of loss not only because of the personal memories I hold of her, but at 98, she was one of the last surviving people I knew of my grandmother’s generation. As kids we used to call her bunny rabbit Dida because she would use her hand tucked inside her white sari as a puppet to create animated bunny rabbits to entertain us. This is an article from The Telegraph, Kolkata on her, in December 2021 just before she passed away. https://www.telegraphindia.com/my-kolkata/people/the-grand-dame-of-rashbehari-sati-gupta-nee-gooptu-shares-ten-decades-of-memories-from-gooptu-bari/cid/1845178

Leave a comment

Leave a comment